Tags

, , , , ,

014

 

Hi Guys & Dolls! In honor of this month being Black History month I thought it only appropriate to do Tiana for my latest Disney Princess tutorial! I only have 4 left in the series (Jasmine, Mulan, Giselle and Esmeralda) so I’m going to try to wrap it up in the next 2 months.

The Princess and the Frog is a twist of the fable of the Frog Prince. In 1920′s New Orleans Tiana is an independent young woman who works 2 waitressing jobs trying to save up to buy her own restaurant. She is a hard worker but she needs to learn to take it easy. The Prince takes everything a little too easy…and well, I don’t want to spoil it all! I could easily see the prince in the movie singing “Dancing Though Life” from “Wicked”.

I think Tiana is one of the better role models among the Disney Princesses- she isn’t waiting on prince charming to rescue her, she has a real life dream in mind, and I have mucho respect for her. I feel like Princess and the Frog is not as popular as it should be- the songs are cute, the animation is FABULOUS- combining several art styles in fantasy sequences. There’s voodoo and hoodoo and even a jazz loving alligator. In short, it’s one of my faves!

For my look today I took inspiration from Tiana’s Dress at the end of the movie- a soft mint with layers shaped like petals. I framed this mint color with a dark frame to punctuate the shape and bring in the darker elements of the movie.

On a personal note, I went out to dinner with Mikey and a few of our oldest guy friends. The guys loved this makeup! Always nice to get a compliment on fun makeup from straight guys! Take that every article that says guys prefer no-makeup!

full face ws

 

eye close up 2

 

eye ws 1

 

024

List of Products

EYES

Urban Decay Primer Potion

NYX Jumbo Pencil in Milk

BH Cosmetics Day to Night Palette

Ben Nye Cake Liner & MAC Water Based Mixing Medium

Elegant Lashes 001 wispy lashes

Blinc Mascara

Urban Decay Graffiti 24/7 Pencil

Anastasia Covet Liner in Black

FACE

Too Faced Primed & Poreless

Illamasqua Skinbase 3.5 & white

MAC Pro Longwear Concealer

Make Up For Ever Pro Finish Powder 113

BH Cosmetics Blush Palette

LIPS

Milani Fruit Punch Color Statement lipstick

 

*the video in this post is sponsored by BH cosmetics. Products provided for use in tutorial.

